Wk 3 – Artist Conversation – Josh Vasquez

Artist: Josh Vasquez
Exhibition: Vida/Morte
Media: Sharpie, Markers, Spray Paint
Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery West
Website: joshvasquez.com
Instagram: joshybehr

IMG_0141

For this week’s artist conversation, I got to meet Josh Vasquez. Josh is currently an undergraduate in his fifth year. He is from the painting and drawing program at CSULB School of Art. He’s interested in life and death because he believes that they are so different. He explores life and death throughout his artwork.

IMG_2457

His gallery displayed stunning art pieces that had flowers and skulls. Josh wanted the symbols to show more than just life and death, which made me really interested in his exhibition. As I looked around some more, I was fascinated by the art pieces because they were done with markers and clear plastic bags. The different lines and shapes used for the art made it so appealing.

 The idea of life and death that the artist portrays through his artwork is with the use of the colors, black and white. I think that these two colors are really important because it really correlates with the theme. As I was having the conversation with the artist, it felt really deep. I believe that the lighting and the pieces together made the room feel a little dark and relevant to the theme.

The theme of life and death explored in the exhibition is rather interesting to me. The nature of the artwork displayed by the artist made me really think about life and death. It appealed to me in a way where I had the feeling and understanding of the two. I saw very deep meaning behinds the art pieces that were displayed. They weren’t just pieces of drawing of skulls and flowers, but each piece had a strong meaning to it. Josh said that there wasn’t any specific experience that made him interested in the theme, but because it was something different from others. I am glad that I went to this art exhibition because I got to visually see the artwork that explores such an interesting theme.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

