Wk 4 – Artist Conversation – Samuel Jernigan

Artist: Samuel Jernigan
Exhibition: Weight of Whimsy Ideals
Media: Ceramic Clay, Montana Spray Paint
Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery West
Website: http://http://www.cargocollective.com/samueljernigan
Instagram: samueljenri

 

For this week’s artist conversation, I got to meet Samuel Jernigan. Samuel is from the Central California Bay Area. He grew up in an agricultural area outside of Fresno County. He graduated from CSULB in Fall of 2015 with a BFA in ceramics. He has interests in music, guitar, comics, and his bicycle.

I found Samuel’s artwork to be interesting because they explore the theme of belonging and contradiction. He tries to make artwork that touches general emotion using ceramics and spray paint. He only uses Montana brand spray paint from Germany because he says that they are the most premium you can get. As I looked around, many pieces attracted my eyes. His pieces were made with different shapes and colors which was why the qualities of his artwork looked very unique.

Samuel doesn’t make work that he doesn’t find funny so I thought this was why I really liked looking around in his gallery. As I was having a conversation with the artist, I saw that he really cares about what people see in his artwork. He likes to create things that have the pretense of identity, like an idea of a portrait. He has a strong determination in creating art even to the point where he had to stay 14-16 days working and sleeping in his car for three years. He says that he doesn’t like to be in a closed spot so he goes out and rides his bike once in a while instead of devoting a bunch of hours at once trying to finish his artwork.

I really enjoyed looking at the art pieces made by Samuel. I especially loved the fish art pieces because I saw a unique creation and emotion in them. I took ceramics in high school and it wasn’t as easy, however I thought it was really fun to create artwork where people would enjoy looking at. Looking around his gallery made me think about my past memories with ceramics. His visual artwork came from him being a musician. He feels that playing music gives him feeling and it helps him incorporate his emotions into his art pieces. I found that the relation from artwork to being a musician is quite unique because it helps him create the art pieces that I saw at the gallery. Samuel is an interesting person to meet and I am glad that I got to talk to him. He made the conversation funny too by adding fun facts about himself like his favorite donut and his interest for pens!

 

 

Leave a Reply

