Wk 5 – Artist Conversation – Kristi Jensen

Artist: Kristi Jensen
Exhibition: Fuse: Join to Form a Single Entity
Media: Metal and Jewelry
Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery East and West
Website: Artist does not have a website
Instagram: Whipperton

This week’s art exhibition consisted of a collection of art pieces made by different artists. I got to meet one of the artist name, Kristi Jensen. Kristi is currently pursuing her BFA in metal and jewelry. She started out as a sculptor major, but then realized it wasn’t for her. She will be graduating next semester and her dream is to make a living by doing things that are related to metal. Kristi has many interests including knitting, doing fiber art, reading, and watching The Walking Dead. Her works does not convey any specific messages however, she is driven by the process of making them.

Some of her artworks that were displayed in the exhibition include a silver ring, a Cloisonné green and blue glass piece, and an interesting steel piece that she says looks like an onion. I was amazed when I saw these pieces because the artist explained that her pieces usually takes about 3 weeks to finish, from sketching to paper models to completion. These art pieces were done by setting flames to the metal and steel pieces. She loves metal work because she is able to set things on fire. When I looked at the  pieces, I saw the beauty and unique quality that each of them had. Although Kristi says that her goal is to think about the whole process instead of thinking about finishing it and moving on, I feel that each piece was made with a lot of care and attention. The beauty that each piece showed caught my attention.

While having my conversation with the artist, I found out that she was influenced by her grandfather. Kristi’s grandfather use to fix TVs in the past and as a five year old little girl, she would watch her grandfather. She admired her grandfather’s interest in new things and self-teaching experiences. This impact led her to find her interest in metal and jewelry making. She finds it ironic that she creates all these jewelries and only wears them on some occasions, however I don’t find it ironic. I don’t think that it is necessary for her to wear her art pieces  because I am sure other people will  treasure the pieces just as much as she does. Although the artist says there is no specific messages behind her works, I feel that the pieces were created with an idea of uniqueness that people can show to others when they wear them.

I really enjoyed going to this art exhibition because I am someone who love jewelries. I use to make earrings, necklaces, and bracelets when I was younger, however they were always simple ones made from beads. I got to see different kinds of jewelries and art work made by many artists. This exhibition wasn’t only a place where I got to see beautiful pieces of jewelry, but was a place where I learned about the process of making them. I am glad that I got to see many stunning art work.

These are a few interesting pieces in the art exhibition that were made by other artists.

Leave a Reply

