Wk 13 – Artist Conversation – Nick Bamford

Artist: Nick Bamford
Exhibition: Untitled
Media: Wood plaster, Foam, Found objects
Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery East
Website: Artist does not have a website
Instagram: @nickbamf4d

This week, I met Nick Bamford at the art gallery! Nick is currently an undergraduate, senior student here at CSULB. He is from Huntington Beach. He decided to pursue his degree here because it has one of the best programs. His hobbies include playing the guitar and making art. Usually art would take most of his time. This is Nick’s second show this semester and fourth year using black lights and sculptor.

I find Nick’s artwork to be very unique. There were three pieces in the art gallery, but they weren’t just three small pieces of art. They were huge eye capturing ones. I thought they were all very interesting to look at because he created his art with the use of many different things. The medias that he used include wood plaster, foam, and found objects. When I walked up to the pieces, I saw a wide variety of things that were used to make the artworks such as puzzle pieces and even a pair of shoes. Along with the materials that he used, he also displayed his artwork with glowing lights. Instead of using room lights to show his art pieces, the works themselves included lights that made the dark room very bright and appealing.

 

Nick said his art pieces took five days to make. I was surprised because it seemed like it would take a lot of time to put the pieces together. His art pieces was not planned because he believes that art is an intuitive work. He likes the free short process and rather have things go their own way. I thought that idea was pretty cool because you work and create as you go. You don’t have to stop and think about what to do next and plan accordingly. Also, I believe that this method will help create art that is more meaningful. The bright lights added to Nick’s art pieces made them self lit. They add on different kinds of special effects to his art pieces.  Instead of telling us the meaning behind his artwork, Nick prefers the audience to have their own interpretation. He wants the readers to visually look and define the meaning behind his work. I found his artwork to be related to the theme of exploration.

When I walked to the front of the gallery, I was kind of afraid to enter because it seemed like it was going to be spooky inside. However, when someone came out behind the black curtains, I saw a glimpse of the inside with shining bright lights. I walked in and was amazed to see the lights shining from three tall art pieces. It reminded me of my childhood. When I was younger, I use to play with glow sticks all the time. I would turn off the room lights and have a lot of glow sticks with a bunch of my cousins. We would run around and scream while having fun. The moment I was in the art gallery, my memory with glow sticks came to me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

