Wk 14 – Art Experience – Sketching in the Garden

For this week’s art experience, we were required to make 6 sketches and take 6 photos. Three of them had to be abstract and the other three had to be representational. I didn’t know what it meant by abstract and representational so I had to google it and find some examples. I had some struggles during the process because I kept worrying about the end result. Another difficult thing was relying on my eraser. It was hard not to use it when it is right in your backpack. I found the abstract sketches to be much easier because those are drawn the way you perceive the image and the artist is the one who emphasizes the lines, shapes, and colors. For the representational sketches, the image is drawn the way it is seen. Although my sketches and pictures may not be eye-catching, I truly tried my best. I do not have any talent for drawing at all so I found this experience to be very difficult. With a total of six required sketches, I thought I wasn’t going to be able to even do one. However, luckily I was able to move my pencil at the Japanese Garden and make some art.

Before taking this class, I was really nervous and afraid that our activities were all going to be related to drawing. I was hesitant to take this class because I thought I was going to fail. However, I am glad that my friend assured that this class would be full of excitements. Good thing, we did other art activities because I really enjoyed all the variety of things we did. Most importantly, I learned that art does not only consist of drawing, sketching, and painting.

Although I may not have been interested in drawing at all, these sketches made me look at things in another point of view. I realized that doing something you never thought you could do and putting in your best effort is better than not giving it a try. Like most people say, “you will never know if you don’t try.”

 

These are my three representational sketches:

Three abstract sketches:

Three representational photos:

Three abstract photos:

Leave a Reply

